People

Faculty

Photo of Gerry Altmann Gerry Altmann, Professor

Director, IBACS

Office: Bousfield 134C

Lab

gerry.altmann@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Sentence processing; event cognition; object representation

Accepting a new graduate student, starting Fall 2020. Applications welcome.

Roeland Hancock, Assistant Research Professor

Associate Director, Brain Imaging Research Center

Office: PCSB 142A

Lab

roeland.hancock@uconn.edu

Research interests: Neurobiology of language; Neurochemistry; Individual Differences; Auditory Processing
Fumiko Hoeft, Professor

Director, Brain Imaging Research Center

Office: PCSB 142B

Lab: BOUS 329/333

fumiko.hoeft@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Brain development, Neuroimaging, Individual differences, Literacy acquisition, Dyslexia
Edward Large, Professor

Office: BOUS 386C

Lab

edward.large@uconn.edu

Research Interests: auditory pattern recognition and learning, perception of tonality in music, auditory brainstem neurodynamics, cortical dynamics of attention, perception of rhythm in music and speech, rhythmic interactions in nonhuman primates, emotional communication in music, neural basis of song.
James Magnuson, Professor

Office: BOUS 119

Lab

james.magnuson@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Spoken language understanding, language development, language disorder, neurobiology and genetics of language.
Emily Myers, Associate Professor

Office: PCSB 216

Lab: PCSB 143

emily.myers@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Speech perception, cognitive neuroscience, aphasia, second language acquisition, fMRI. Dr. Meyers is involved in the STEAM (STEM+Arts) collaboration.
Ken Pugh, Professor

President, Haskins Laboratories

Office & Lab: BOUS 331

kenneth.pugh@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Reading, reading disorder, neurobiology of language
Jay Rueckl, Professor

Office: BOUS 134B

Lab

Research Interests: Reading, Computational models, Learning and Memory, Brain Bases of Language, MRI
Whit Tabor, Associate Professor

Office: BOUS 124

Lab

whitney.tabor@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Balance between structure and flexibility, change in structured systems, dynamical systems theory, theory of computation, sentence processing, language change, group coordination
Photo of Eiling Yee Eiling Yee, Assistant Professor

Office: BOUS 170

Lab

eiling.yee@uconn.edu

Research Interests: Semantic memory and the neural representation of concepts; Spoken word recognition and language processing; Neural basis of language, aphasia
Paul Allopenna, Emeritus

paul.allopenna@uconn.edu

Post Doctoral Scholars

Christopher Heffner

christopher.heffner@uconn.edu

Gitte Joergensen

gitte.joergensen@uconn.edu

Silvia Clement-Lam

silvia.clementlam@uconn.edu

Airey Lau

airey.lau@uconn.edu

Natasza Marrouch

natasza.marrouch@uconn.edu

Sandra Villata

sandra.villata@uconn.edu

 

Heejo You

hee_jo.you@uconn.edu

phoebe.gaston@uconn.edu
Phoebe Gaston is a CNC-CT post-doctoral fellow, working with Jim Magnuson and Emily Myers. Her primary research interest is in how words are represented and recognized from speech. She is particularly interested in how contextual information impacts word recognition, and the interplay between syntactic and acoustic cues. 

Graduate Students

Charles Charles Davis

charles.davis@uconn.edu

Zac Zachary Ekves

zachary.ekves@uconn.edu

Jieyin Feng

jieyin.feng@uconn.edu

kyra2 Kyra Krass

kyra.krass@uconn.edu

My research interests lie in event cognition. I would like to know what role affordances and goals play in event processing and how we can use eye-tracking and behavioral techniques to investigate this. I am also interested in how bilingualism and executive functioning influence event processing.

Karl Lerud Karl Lerud
Monica Li

monica.li@uconn.edu

Tong Li

tong.li@uconn.edu

sahil_luthra_photo Sahil Luthra

sahil.luthra@uconn.edu

Oliver McNeil

oliver.mcneil@uconn.edu

Morrow_Hannah Hannah Morrow

hannah.morrow@uconn.edu

Yanina Yanina Prystauka

yanina.prystauka@uconn.edu

David Saltzman

david.saltzman@uconn.edu

Oliver Sawi

oliver.sawi@uconn.edu

Elizabeth Simmons

Now at Sacred Heart University Department of Communication Disorders

Yi Wei

yi.wei@uconn.edu

Henry Harrison VII Henry Wolf VII

henry.wolf_vii@uconn.edu